Our Region 

separate sub-regions

kilometres squared

The Great Victoria Desert

The Great Victoria Desert is Australia’s largest desert, covering an area of 418,800 kmwithin Western Australia and South Australia. Limited research and surveys have been conducted due to vast area, inaccessibility and the high costs of mobilising people and equipment. 

 While the Great Victoria Desert is well vegetated, the lack of surface water has limited settlement and conversion to other land uses over most of the region. There are no major towns in the region. The closest towns are Kalgoorlie-Boulder, approximately 300 km south-west of the Great Victoria Desert border and Warburton to the north. There are some Aboriginal settlements in or close to the boundary of the region.

Six Separate Sub-Regions

The Great Victoria Desert as a bioregion comprises six separate subregions, each of which are defined by common characteristics such as geology, landform patterns, climate, ecological features and plant and animal communities.  The Shield (GVD01) and Central (GVD02) subregions, located entirely within Western Australia, combine to cover 173,327 km2 of the bioregion and are the focus of the Trust activities.